a realisation


I’m going to take a break from posting photos from the recent holiday by sharing what I’ve read recently that confirms my decision to move ahead. As I’m preparing my folio for a job hunt and relocation, I look back at my years here and it’s been a dream come true to see lives changed from the work I’ve done. And now comes the time to see another dream come the pass because if not now then when?

I had a long conversation with my aunt during the Chinese New Year break a couple of weeks ago. She shared with me about her unhappy marriage and how life is short and really what you make of it. It seemed depressing at first, but as we were talking, I couldn’t help but feel a sense of hope and courage welling up inside of me. She mentioned many things about fulfilment and unmet desires. And it all boiled down to how there will be many things in life that can wear you down and make you doubt yourself but at the end of the day, you get to choose what you to see and become—and the sooner you realise this, the better.

And a realisation doesn’t just happen in the mind, but what you do with your hands.

“I can say this though, there was a moment, sometime in 2002 or 2003 when I was sitting by the sea, up on an island off the coast of New Hampshire when I realized I could make my life into anything I wanted, that I could choose my reality. That was when I put myself fully into this, that I decided to just go and see what happened, nothing else mattered.”
– Mikael Kennedy, interview by Brian Ferry

Photo was taken with an old SX-70 with a faulty roller. That’s the kitchen.

6 comments

  1. Mun Yee

    so good rach. so good!

  2. Well said! It’s easy to get caught up in the humdrum of life. Good luck on your job hunt!

  3. The Internet

    Dear Rachel,

    Please blog. I miss you.

    Love, the internet.

Leave a Reply

