Cream free

When I first made pasta from scratch, my arms hurt the next day and I told myself I need to get a machine for it—not only for pasta, but for pan mee (one day, yes). On a rare day I was craving for carbonara. It’s usually not my favorite as the thick cream puts me off after a few mouthfuls and I’ve heard that the original carbonara uses no cream, so I decided to try making my own.

To make the pasta, I use the simple formula like making pancakes—1 for 1.

This recipe makes 1 serving:
1 egg
100g flour
A pinch of salt
A small drizzle of olive oil

  1. In a large mixing bowl or clean work surface, create a well in the flour. Crack an egg in the well. Add in the salt and olive oil.
  2. Using a fork, mix the egg slowly and gradually mix in the flour in circles.
  3. Combine the dough mixture and work it until it’s no longer sticky. Add a bit more flour if necessary.
  4. When the dough is shaped into a ball, dust your working surface with flour. Roll the dough out to a square or rectangle with a rolling pin. Set your pasta machine to the biggest setting (no. 1) and put your dough through. Dust dough with flour again and fold. Run in through the machine again.
  5. Do this with a smaller setting each time until you get the thickness you’re satisfied with. When it’s thick enough, put it through the cutting slots. If you don’t have a pasta machine, simply use a rolling pin to roll, fold, roll and fold until desired thickness and smoothness. Then dust the pasta sheet, roll it up and slice with knife.
  6. Lift cut pasta up and let it fall to let them come lose from each other. If you have a good amount of flour dusted, they will separate nicely.

I didn’t have bacon ready at hand, but I found some cured sweet sausages in the fridge (pancetta would have been a dream).

  1. Boil a pot of water with a good amount of salt (think sea water). When it boils, toss in the fresh pasta.
  2. On a pan, heat up some olive oil. Slice the garlic thinly and add it into the pan. As the garlic is slightly browned, add in the sliced sausages/bacon/pancetta.
  3. In a bowl, mix an egg with grated parmesan.
  4. Fresh pasta usually takes half the cooking time of dried pasta. And it should take roughly the same cooking time as the garlic and sausages. Turn the heat off the pan. Drain the pasta and add it into the pan with garlic and meat.
  5. Immediately pour the egg and parmesan mixture into the same pan and combine and coat pasta. The heat from the pasta will cook the raw egg. Serve with cracked black pepper.

I’ve to say that having a pasta machine makes a silkier pasta than rolling it out by hand. Speaking of which, I’m getting hungry now. At 1am. Not good.

7 comments

  1. ponnie

    I love your food posts and style of photography, so inspiring. :)

  2. sweetdreamlisa

    That looks so good!

  3. I too make carbonara without cream. :)
    Just raw eggs and finely chopped up cheese (I dislike wasting them on the grater).

    But you make your own noodles! Did you just use regular flour or did you use the ‘durum’ variety (if so where does one buy them)?

Leave a Reply

