Mille Feuille

I was looking through Stéphane Reynaud’s 356 Reasons to Sit Down and Eat and decided to make something following the cookbook. It was August 28th and it was a recipe for Mille Feuille. Had it once for a friend’s birthday and never since. The one I first had was more cake-like so this recipe that uses pastry seems a whole lot more tasty (butter!). This is my adapted version from Stéphane Reynaud’s as I added vanilla pod, lemon and lime zest in each layer. I would have added in strawberries or any other berry if they weren’t so expensive here. Hmm. Actually, I could have added crushed almonds or chocolate shavings too. Next time!

Mille Feuille
Serves 6

200g butter puff pastry
100g icing sugar

For the crème pâtissièrre:
2 egg yolks
80g sugar
1 tablespoon all-purpose plain flour
1 tablespoon cornflour
250ml/1 cup full cream milk
1 vanilla pod, sliced in half

For assembling:
1 lemon, zest
1 lime, zest
Icing sugar for dusting

For the pastry, I used a block I bought from the baking shop, cut to weight and then rolled out. Steps shown below:

To make the crème pâtissièrre:

 

On a more personal side, I’ve been going through what I could only describe as birth pangs, if I want to be more discrete. (Only a metaphor, don’t panic/get too excited.) A lot has been mulling in my mind, things are building up and I sense it in my heart that something is about to change for the better. Not that where I am now is the gutter, but I sense that I cannot remain where I am—professionally or personally—if I want to grow and live out my dreams. I need a stronger creative outlet and I want to do more. And I know that there’s more to life than this. In a way, this is my mille feuille in life. Thousands of layers upon layers, hopefully with goodness sandwiched in between, and I’m only peeling tiny layers off to reveal the bigger picture. The next few months will require a lot of faith and courage and some balls. Decisions to make and steps to follow through.

And on a completely random tangent, someone threw a dead cat at my front door this morning. Happy Merdeka, I guess.

11 comments

  1. Do it before the mundane cycle of the days crushes you.

  2. Some balls. Nice. Haha.. you can do it Rach! =) I have faith in the Jesus that lives in you!

  3. May

    the pastry looks so crispy! Delish and looks amazing!!

  4. rachelchew

    Thank you and you and you :)

  5. vansha

    i really wouldnt want to be your housemate! it would be too hard to stay slim! :(

  6. another.rachel

    it’s been a while since i’ve visited your work and I must say your work has gotten real good.
    the colours, concepts, layouts, the fluidity and sense of being in the kitchen with your drawings. I love it.
    breathe deep, backed with prayer, and take the plunge.

Leave a Reply

