Earl Grey tea cookies (and extra)

So this is another tea related post. Ever since a friend gave me a box of Earl Grey tea leaves from Turkey, I’ve not opened it and have only dabbled with the thought of making cookies in my mind. But the past few weeks of not making something edible with my hands, threw me a little out of sync.

This recipe is adapted from Martha Stewart’s. And I use “adapted” loosely as I did a rough conversion of the butter (as I used an already open block) and didn’t really measure the amount of tea leaves. I just bantai/hentam/winged it. I think I used slightly less sugar too and zest one whole orange. You can find the original recipe here if this is too scatterbrained for you.

Directions:

  1. Grind tea leaves finely
  2. Whisk together flour, tea and salt in a bowl; set aside.
  3. Put butter, sugar and zest in a bowl. Mix with electric beater at medium until pale and fluffy. Reduce speed to low and slowly mix in flour mixture until just combined.
  4. Divide dough in half. On a flour-dusted surface, shape dough into logs. Transfer each to a piece of parchment/grease proof paper and roll them up, folding the sides in. Freeze for an hour.
  5. Preheat the oven at 175˚C. Cut logs unto ¼ inch-thick slices. Space them an inch apart on a parchment-lined baking tray.
  6. Bake until edges turn golden at 13 – 15 minutes.

Make a face, for fun.

You can eat it on its own or dipped in some raspberry preserve or jam. Or even crushed to make a pretty awesome ice cream topping.

We made wonton noodles at home the other night. We usually eat it with the broth (anchovy with choy sum/Chinese mustard leaves) but for a change, I thought I should try to make the dry tossed version. I’m not a fan of the KL style dark soy with sugar version so I made what I remember of the HK version.

For the wontons, you can find the recipe here but we added chopped chestnuts in ours for more bite. For the noodle dressing, I mixed a little bit of everything in proportion/according to taste/winging it again:

  1. Fried shallots
  2. Sesame seed oil
  3. Chinese cooking wine
  4. Thick chicken stock
  5. Some of the soup broth
  6. A bit of oyster sauce
  7. Light soy
  8. Pepper

Sorry, no photos of it because it was late and I was hungry. But I do hope you enjoyed it nevertheless!

2 comments

  1. yay to the revival of the digital camera!

Leave a Reply

