No such thing as too much butter

My brother enrolled into culinary school and for one of the classes he visited a mushroom farm that only uses imported Danish manure. Supposedly better, he said. He brought back a few varieties of fungus and was kind enough to give me some to cook. The fresh woody scent can immediately transplant me into some kind of dewy magical forestry.

I’ve always loved mushrooms. Once when I was young, I ate so much of it in one sitting that I threw up. True story. Don’t remember much of the throwing up, but the mushrooms were good.

Balsamic mushrooms:
A box of mushrooms, sliced. Heat up a pan with some butter with olive oil and when the butter starts to lightly bubble, add in the mushrooms. Let them fry and brown. Add in chopped garlic, thyme and rosemary. Now add in the chopped ham or bacon. Let it fry. Splash the pan with balsamic vinegar and a hint of Worcestershire sauce. Cook until mushrooms are soft. Season with salt and pepper.

(Sorry, I totally improvised from a Jamie recipe I kind of remember from his 20-Minute Meals app for steak with balsamic glazed mushrooms.)

Heat up a non-stick pan and when it’s nicely hot, lay the paratha on the pan a minute on each side until beautifully toasted. I’d rather serve it with chapati if I have any actually, but this still tastes as good—it’s fluffier. Serve the warm mushrooms with strips of cold zucchini, roll up the paratha and eat!

Over the past few weeks I’ve also found some pretty things growing in the garden, besides the usual weeds: spring onions and a kind of rose-looking flower. Really pretty in its light pastel pink with grey-teal leaves.

I also got my hands on some cookbooks recently:
Bill’s Basic by Bill Granger (very minimalist, basic and simple layout and by one of my favorite  food photographers, Mikkel Vang), Jamie’s 30-Minute Meals (in a beautiful kitchen, photographed by another favorite, David Loftus) and Jamie Magazine Recipe Yearbook 2010/2011 (thanks, Ant!). I have loads to look through and drool over. A lot of oohs and ahhs.

In the last post, I wrote about making hollandaise sauce and this time, I made it again and managed to photograph it. It was a cold rainy morning and this feels perfect for the soul so I made poached eggs over a dill salad on toasted English muffins (would have added a slice of ham if I remembered). For the recipe, I used Donna Hay’s which calls for 2 egg yolks, 125g clarified unsalted butter, 1 tbs lemon juice plus salt and pepper.

If the mixture starts to separate, immediately remove from heat and add in an ice cube. Whisk until thickened, smooth and creamy in texture.

Toast your English muffins and place your greens, poached egg and finally pour the creamy hollandaise sauce generously over your egg. Break and drool.

Happy Good Friday and Easter weekend!

10 comments

  1. 1. that mushroom/paratha wrap looks crazy good. wish parathas were as cheap and good over here.
    2. i love your photos so much. the egg shell photo stands out in particular
    3. the hollandaise sauce looks divine!
    4. what kind of cookbook is bill’s basics? the cover itself is intriguing me.

    • rachelchew

      Thanks, Joey :)
      Parathas or any kinds of roti is really cheap here and sometimes I tend to not realize this and take it for granted. Thanks for the reminder.
      Bill’s Basics is a cookbook that has simple recipes that doesn’t have a lot of fluff. Basic stuff that anyone can follow, I reckon. It came with two cover versions, but I chose this because it seemed more in line with the entire theme of the book than the one with him on the cover. You can check it out here.

      Thanks, again!

      • YES, be thankful of cheap roti! :) i try to eat as much of it as i can when i’m in southeast asia.
        okay, yum – thanks for the link to the bill’s basics book! gorgeous. its going in my wishlist!

  2. agung

    tis about time.
    looks delicious as always.

  3. I just found your blog via Flickr and your photos are absolutely stunning. I know you probably get this question a lot but I am totally inspired… do you shoot with a DSLR or do you mainly stick to film? Can you recommend a particular DSLR if you do? I currently shoot with a Pentax K100 and a Canon s95 and am considering upgrading to a DSLR. Thank you so much for sharing your “eye” with us and I love your blog!

    • rachelchew

      Hi Venessa, thank you :)
      I shoot with a DSLR and a 35mm SLR too. But due to budget constraints and time, it’s usually more convenient to shoot digital. I can’t really recommend a particular DSLR as I’m also waiting and looking for a good one myself. My current one is really old, like 5 years old. Thanks for stopping by! :)

Leave a Reply

