Orange poppy seed cake, etc.

Even as I post this up, you have to realize that the cake shown here is long gone. That was over two weeks ago and time really flies. I adapted the recipe from What Katie Ate, sans the pomegranates and grapefruit.

Orange poppy seed cake

2 oranges
3 eggs, separated
220g caster sugar
300g almond meal
1tsp baking powder
½ tsp ground cinnamon (I may have added more)
More than a handful of poppy seeds (up to you)

  1. Preheat the oven to 180˚C/350˚F. Grease and line a spring-form baking pan and set aside.
  2. Peel and slice the oranges and put them into a blender. Blend till you get a smooth pulp but don’t over blend it.
  3. Add caster sugar, almond meal, baking powder and cinnamon into a bowl and mix. Add in egg yolks and mix again. Then add the orange pulp and poppy seeds and mix well.
  4. In another bowl, whisk the egg whites until stiff and add into the cake mix. Combine until you get a smooth consistency.
  5. Pour into the cake tin and bake for 40 – 50 minutes until top is golden brown. If unsure, stick a toothpick in the middle to check for readiness. The toothpick should come off clean, but if it’s still sticky, leave it in for a while more.

I’m sure it would have been more awesome if I had brought the cream cheese down from the freezer the night before or added more poppy seeds. But the cake itself and a glass of cold lemon barley will do.


A week ago, I was bored with the food variety and usual shops near work so I went down to the 7-11, got myself a can of tuna in olive oil and a box of wild rockets I left in the pantry the day before. The office pantry is pretty well stocked.

1 can of tuna in extra virgin olive oil
A handful of wild rockets, cut or torn into small pieces
1tsp balsamic vinegar
A good splash of tabasco sauce
Cracked black pepper and salt

Combine all, while breaking up the tuna chunks into smaller pieces.

 

 

Photo taken with the iPhone.



Last Saturday, I made hollandaise sauce for the first time in my life. I was very stoked, especially after watching Elle Fanning playing an 11-year old, making eggs benedict for her dad for breakfast—topped with cut chives, nonetheless—in Somewhere. If an 11-year old could do it, surely I could too, I thought. I was cooking for one, so do adjust the recipe necessarily.

1 egg yolk
100ml clarified butter
10ml vinegar
salt

1. Place ingredients into a bowl and whisk it over a pot of boiling water, creating a bain-marie.
2. Whisk until a smooth consistency.
3. If the sauce starts to break, throw in an ice cube and whisk again.
4. Serve it over toast, eggs, ham and rockets.

Photo taken with the iPhone.

15 comments

  1. this is so not fair. when you’re here, you don’t do stuff like this.
    SO NOT LOVE!

  2. lovely post! that cake looks delicious. i love that you take photos in-process. i wish i did that more often, but i’m already a slow enough baker… stopping to wipe my hands & take photos in a horribly lit kitchen just feels exhausting sometimes. anyway, that lemon barley stuff looks tasty! i’ve never heard of it, but i am thirsty and i feel like its calling my name..

    • rachelchew

      Thanks Joey!
      I know what you mean. Sometimes I don’t get to shoot the process much unless I have a willing kitchen helper/a pair of hands. The lemon barley drink is very refreshing and tastes better with some mint :)

  3. I love your dreamy shots.
    How did you achieve that with your camera?

    • rachelchew

      Thank you :)
      As silly as it sounds, I just point and shoot. But I think it’s really about capturing light in its most flattering moments.

      • li

        she said it well. all your pictures are absolutely dreamy!
        how’s the cook book project we spoke about coming along? =p

  4. Ant

    I want some of that cake. Will u make another and mail it to me?

    • rachelchew

      I can mail the ingredients to you in a jar. Someone should invent a shake-to-bake instant cake, like they do for those instant hot drink/soup in a can.

      Li, the cook book is um… on its way from thought to process :)

  5. lilly

    eggs benedict!!! salivating now

  6. munyee

    all your beautiful photos are making my tummy grumble in the library, rachel! not good! hahaha.

Leave a Reply

