compact camera, revisited

Gate H8. Waiting in KLIA.

This is the first time I’ve shot with a compact camera (automatic all the way!) in a very, very long time. And I must say, it’s long overdue. I brought my usual camera with me, but nothing beats shooting for the sake of shooting. DSLRs are highly overrated (sometimes). While everyone is seeking to upgrade, this supposed downgrading brought me much joy as it reminds me of the early days when I innocently picked up a camera. Like the first taste of cotton candy. Nothing fancy, just simple.

I didn’t like the way the colors turned out and I couldn’t care much about editing them, so I’ve converted them to black and white. Mouseover the photos to read caption.

If you’d like some background music to accompany them, I’d suggest this or this. Or tune in to the Voice of Vietnam on your AM radio.

5 comments

  1. Really liked this set of pictures. The black and white is just perfect for this kind of ‘road trip’ Just point and shoot. Next week, I’m going to buy the Canon Powershot G10, which is a very good compact camera. Looking forward to it.

  2. suejan

    you make everyday normal scenes looks so beautiful! what happen to your previous camera?

  3. rachelchew

    @herfstmensje: thanks! i heard a lot about the g10 :)
    can’t wait to see your photos from it.

    @suejan: thank you. nothing happened to my previous camera. i just decided to shoot with a different camera. more photos from the other camera will come soon :)

  4. beautiful photographs! it seems to work so well in b/w, but i enjoy imagining what colourful sceans there must be!
    i’m also a big fan of a compact camera :)

  5. lovely photos.. hope to see more

Leave a Reply

