world peace

Recently I came across a church that is running a beauty pageant. I must be an 80 year-old spinster trapped in a soon-to-be 25 year-old woman’s body because I can’t seem to connect those two. Three, actually. I can’t connect the church with beauty pageants and I think beauty pageant is an oxymoron. Who would have thought beauty is a contest?

I’m finding it hard to see its relevance. I don’t know if we need another Miss Whatever to change the world. Perhaps they’re merely celebrating the body God endowed them with, the body being the temple of the Holy Spirit that is. We will see which temple is better. Perhaps the winner is judged based on her good heart and noble endeavors, all put on display. Flaunt anything. A once in a lifetime opportunity to improve your self-esteem at the expense of other women, it’s a civil catfight for the religious.

I have seen this, but I still have no idea how beauty can be rated.

Will I be allowed into the church with my imperfect skin, bitten fingernails and short legs? Will they open up a handicap parking space for me too? If the church, being the body of Christ is playing judge over beauty, will God think I’m less beautiful?

In my little head, I can see the winner clutching her rhinestone tiara, mouthing in tearing spasms, “I just want to say how I think the other contestants are all so beautiful in their own right, but I want to thank God for making me more beautiful! XOXO!”

Beauty and worth are so intertwined, yet altogether different. 

I was looking through my photographs and found a series of Cambodian beauties (women, transvestites and transsexuals) in a market. All longing for beauty and worth; acceptance and love… the last thing the church needs is a beauty pageant.

9 comments

  1. varalas

    Got that damn right.

  2. jk

    wow pink jellyfish twins

    – and a manhunt/beauty queen for a religious institution… do the contestants talk about their faith during the interview while they are wearing swimwear ah? shudder.

    glamorous. it will at least attract more attention to the church/christianity – good or bad attention is another matter. :/

  3. jk: i have no idea, but i might just drop by to find out. i suppose it’s free admission. it’s probably more dodgy than glamorous, like having talent-time in school.

  4. zxio

    i suppose it’s emerge? heh.

  5. Pingback: boobs and booties haunt « Being

  6. *Zo

    “the last thing the church needs is a beauty pageant.”

    Exactly. I still can’t believe they actually had one.

  7. Pingback: Yvonne Foong Ming Niang: Psychology and Neurofibromatosis » The struggling church

  8. Grace

    I absolutely cannot believe that now churches have their own beauty pageants… Can God ever love one less for being born less beautiful??

  9. to rachel:
    great post. i love your inner thoughts:
    ‘In my little head, I can see the winner clutching her rhinestone tiara, mouthing in tearing spasms, “I just want to say how I think the other contestants are all so beautiful in their own right, but I want to thank God for making me more beautiful! XOXO!”’

    i think you are a brilliant writer and have many insightful things to say. thanks for sharing them.

    to grace:
    you wrote ‘Can God ever love one less for being born less beautiful??’

    i really don’t think god rates our ‘beauty.’ he made us, and takes delight in us (most days i’m really not sure why), and i believe he thinks we are all beautiful. he doesn’t judge our beauty – he made us to be beautiful. we judge our beauty.

Leave a Reply

